西红柿五重奏(瑞士/美国)

tomato_small

2011

乘有植物的互动装置、帐篷、联网空气探测仪、电扇、五声道声音系统、以及音乐服务器

Chris Chafe,Greg Niemeyer

 

西红柿3.0是一个由光、五臂游戏帐篷、位于中央的成熟中的西红柿和舞蹈音乐构成的,音乐和灯光效果从整体中散发出来。声音、音乐和光是由西红柿的成熟过程控制的,通过一个中央电脑提供的持续算法谱曲完成。

观众可以从帐篷的五个通道之一进入,可以跳舞,也可以观察在帐篷中央圆锥体里逐渐成熟的西红柿。观众的呼吸加速成熟的过程,继而加速了舞蹈音乐和灯光效果。这件装置受到了各界的好评。作品的主要的赞助人是Swissnex San Francisco。

 

艺术家简历:

 

Chris Chafe, 联合首席研究员,Waves (cc@ccrma.stanford.edu)

Chafe是一位作曲家、创作家、大提琴家和音乐研究员,并对电脑和互动表演感兴趣。他长期活动于音乐音效电脑研究中心,他是该中心的主任及电脑音乐课程的教授。在三年的时间里,他在巴黎IRCAM和Banff中心创造音乐并研发电脑音乐合成方法。在2000年推出的SoundWIRE项目利用实时互联网合奏连结世界各地的合作者。新型合奏工具以及对延时效应的研究在持续发展着。无论表演者在网络上还是现场,他的音乐可以在欧洲、美国以及亚洲听到。2009年11月,联合国举办了一场五国参与的“谐振”音乐会。此作品的CD可以在Centaur Records购买。画廊和展馆中的音乐装置发展入第二个世纪,在音乐家、科学家及医师合作下,从生物、医学和环境的角度“音乐化”。他的最新的作品包括TQ11“西红柿五重奏”。

 

Greg Niemeyer,联合首席研究员,Tomatoes (niemeyer@berkeley.edu)

出生于1967年,Greg Niemeyer学习了古典文学和摄影。当他1992年来到美国西海岸时,他开始接触新媒体,并于1997年获得斯坦福大学新媒体艺术硕士学位。与此同时他创建了斯坦福大学数码艺术中心,他在该中心执导至2001年,同年他受聘于加州大学伯克利分校,任新媒体助理教授。在伯克利他参与建设新媒体中心,致力于分析新媒体对人类体验的影响。

他的创意工作集中在个体之间的交流以及个体在集体中通过科技的交流,他还关注对科技的幽默性反馈。他最闻名的作品包括“重力”(库柏联盟学院,纽约,1997年)、PING(旧金山现代艺术馆,2001年)、氧气长笛(与Chris Chafe合作,圣荷西艺术馆,2002年)、奥尔加农(太平洋电影节,2003)、Ping 2.0(巴黎La Villette Numerique,2004年)、奥尔加农实验(2005)、早安花朵(SFIFF 2006、Townhouse画廊,埃及开罗,2006年),以及和Joe McKay合作的平衡游戏(开罗2007年、伦敦2007年)。黑云(2008年)由MacArthur基金会赞助,提供了一个替代现实和一个感应空气质量的社会网,由此行动来改善室内空气质量。此项目已发展为一个名为Aclima Inc.的公司。

Tomato Quintet (CH/US)

tomato_small
2011
Interactive installation with ripening tomatoes, tents, sensors, electronics, electric fan, 5-channel sound system, and music server.
Chris Chafe, United States, (Stanford University) and Greg Niemeyer, Switzerland (University of California, Berkeley)
Tomato Quintet 3.0 is a light, large, five-armed play tent with tomatoes ripening in the middle, and dance music, sound and light effects emanating from the whole. The sound, the music and the lights are controlled by the ripening process of the tomatoes through a continuous electronic composition. Visitors enter the tent through one of the five tunnels and can dance and observe the ripening tomatoes in the central cone-shaped section of the tent. The visitors respirations accelerate the ripening process, which in turn accelerates the dance music and lights. The main sponsor for the installation was Swissnex San Francisco.
Artist bios:
Chris Chafe, Co-Principal Investigator, Waves (cc@ccrma.stanford.edu)
Chafe is a composer, improvisor, cellist, and music researcher with an interest in computers and interactive performance. He has been a long-term denizen of the Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics where he is the center’s director and teaches computer music courses. Three year-long periods have been spent at IRCAM, Paris, and The Banff Centre making music and developing methods for computer sound synthesis. The SoundWIRE project launched in 2000 involves real-time Internet concertizing with collaborators the world over. New tools for playing music together and research into latency factors continue to evolve. An active performer either on the net or physically present, his music is heard in Europe, the Americas and Asia. The five countries “Resonations” concert was hosted by the United Nations in Nov., 2009. CD’s of works are available from Centaur Records. Gallery and museum music installations are continuing into their second decade with biological, medical and environmental “musifications” featured as the result of collaborations with artists, scientists and MD’s.
Greg Niemeyer,  Co-Principal Investigator, Tomatoes (niemeyer@berkeley.edu)
Born in Switzerland in 1967, Greg Niemeyer studied Classics and Photography. He started working with new media when he arrived in the Bay Area in 1992 and he received his MFA from Stanford University in New Media in 1997. At the same time, he founded the Stanford University Digital Art Center, which he directed until 2001, when he was appointed at UC Berkeley as Assistant Professor for New Media. At UC Berkeley, he is an executive member and co-founder of the Center for New Media, focusing on the critical analysis of the impact of new media on human experiences.
His creative work focuses on the mediation between humans as individuals and humans as a collective through technological means, and emphasizes playful responses to technology. His most recognized projects were Gravity (Cooper Union, NYC, 1997), PING (SFMOMA, 2001), Oxygen Flute, with Chris Chafe (SJMA, 2002), Organum (Pacific Film Archive, 2003), Ping 2.0 (Paris, La Villette Numerique, 2004), Organum Playtest (2005), and Good Morning Flowers (SFIFF 2006, Townhouse Gallery, Cairo, Egypt, 2006),and, with Joe McKay, the Balance Game (Cairo 2007, London, 2007). The Black Cloud (2008) was funded by the MacArthur Foundation to provide an alternate reality game about air quality in a Los Angeles High School, Manual Arts. In 2011, Niemeyer founded the Social App lab at CITRIS to promote shifts in stages of reasoning through gameplay.