模糊切入臆断空间(奥地利)

view21

模糊切入臆断空间(奥地利)

2010

500瓦超声波制造机,8个压电跃变压电陶瓷单体,有机玻璃圆筒(60厘米x8厘米), 发电机,PLC工业电器,50个3瓦LED/镜片,和多种电气化学元件

Herwig Weiser

 

Herwig Weiser的雕塑作品“模糊切入臆断空间”是一件电气化学投射装置。频闪的背景光使参观者失去视觉,随角度变幻的颜色令人晕眩。在一个有机玻璃圆盘后面,通常条件下不会融合的化学品结合而后离析。超声波辐射和机械旋转使得分子级的连结断裂。如此浮现出各种不可推测的情形。Friedlieb Ferdinand Runge所试验的化学品合成的动力在此变成它的反力:构造出其并非“可能”,而是“不可能”的化学组合。
Weiser形容他此件作品为实验影片的进一步发展。装置背后的光源使变幻的颜色混合可见。但与照片和高清屏幕不同的是,这些电气化学过程并非用图象重现我们世界。反之,它将化学品的视觉效果放入视线中心。与其利用幻觉的可能性,它提供了一幕惊人的多样化视觉可能。这种带有偶然性的手段实现了胶片影像生成中不可见的过程。器材的内部结构变成透明的。
然而刨除这些解析,有一个要素不会被观众察觉:高频率声音是听觉所无法接收的。尽管超声波制造出各种效果,人类感知能力的不足使其无法进入观众的认知。本质上来讲,这件作品在引用仪器造纵的机械性。从它视觉生理学上的无形化角度,它超越了一般视听媒介的影响:它在揭示的同时也在隐藏。

 

艺术家简历:

Herwig Weiser1969年出生于奥地利茵斯布鲁克,生活和工作在维也纳。在机器装置作品,例如zgodlocator(2000/2002)、迪斯科之前的死亡(2006/2008)以及明智的幻影使者(2008/2011)里Weiser探寻现代人工制品的机构和影响。在带有不确定性的艺术实验里他将成像仪器转变成自动成像雕塑。Weiser曾在阿姆斯特丹Gerrit Rietveld学院学习,之后在科隆媒体艺术学院。他的作品在欧洲、北美与亚洲各地展出,包括林兹 Lentos Kunstmuseum博物馆、台北当代艺术馆、韩国白南俊艺术中心、格拉茨现代美术馆以及迈阿密Art Basel美术馆。他所荣坏慕毕钣蠬ermann Claasen摄影与艺术奖(科隆,1999)、新电影艺术节特殊奖(克罗地亚 斯普利特,2000)、转译媒体艺术节奖(柏林,2001)、白南俊奖(杜塞尔多夫,2002),并获得无数项目资金,包括 Dock e.V / Hauptstadtkulturfonds(柏林,2010)。

Ambiguous Cut Into Space of Conjecture (AT)

view21

2011
ultrasonic generator 500W, 8 PZT-piezoceramic elements , plexiglass cylinder/ 60*8cm, motor , PLC Industrial Electronic , 50*3W Led’s/Lenses and various electrochemicals
Herwig Weiser

 

Herwig Weiser’s Ambiguous Cut Into Space of Conjecture is an electrochemical projection device. The stroboscopic backlight blinds the viewer, the iridescent colors are jarring. Behind a Plexiglas disc, chemicals that under normal circumstances are immiscible combine and separate again. Ultrasonic exposure and mechanical rotation cause existing bonds to rupture at the molecular level. Unforeseeable configurations arise. The driving force [Bildungstrieb] for the formation of chemical substances attested by Friedlieb Ferdinand Runge is here turned into its opposite: Not the possible, but rather the impossible composition of the employed substances is presented.

Weiser describes his piece as a further development of experimental film. The light source installed behind the test arrangement makes the changing color combinations visible. Unlike photographs or plasma screens, however, these electrochemical processes do not generate images reproducing our world. The piece instead places the visualizing qualities of the chemicals themselves at center stage. Rather than utilizing the possibilities for illusion, it offers a glimpse into the remarkable multiplicity of optical variation. The accidental approach makes manifest the otherwise invisible process of photographic image generation. The interior of the apparatus becomes transparent.

In this free experiment Weiser is pursuing the unpredictability of the original image creation process. Following in the tradition of Georg Christoph Lichtenberg and Johann Wilhelm Ritter, a technical test arrangement is misused to induce autopoietic processes. The thetical functionality of the apparatus is broken down and overcome in favor of an unforeseeable and thus artistic approach.
Yet regardless of all these insights, one element remains hidden from the viewer: The high-frequency sound is unperceivable to the senses. The work is a sound sculpture whose aural expression is not perceptible. Though the ultrasound produces an effect, human sensorial inadequacy prevents its passing through into the viewer’s consciousness. In essence, the piece thus references the mechanisms of apparatus-based manipulation. In its aesthesiophysiological intangibility it thereby goes beyond the usual influence of audio-visual media: The piece simultaneously reveals and conceals.
By Marcel René Marburger

 

Artist bio:

Herwig Weiser, born in Innsbruck/Austria (1969), lives and works in Vienna. In works like the machine installations, zgodlocator (2000/2002), Death Before Disko (2006/2008), and Lucid Phantom Messenger (2008/2011) Weiser explores the mechanisms and effects of contemporary artefacts. Based on the unpredictable artistic experiment he transforms image-processing devices into autopoietic sculptures. Weiser studied at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy Amsterdam, and at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne. His works have been shown in exhibitions across Europe, North America, and Asia, including the Lentos Kunstmuseum Linz, the Museum of Contemporary Art Taipei, the Nam June Paik Art Center,South Korea ,Kunsthaus Graz and at Art Basel Miami. Among his awards are the Hermann Claasen Award for Photography and Media Art (Cologne, 1999), Special Award at the Festival of New Film (Split/Croatia, 2000), Transmediale Award (Berlin, 2001), the Nam June Paik Award (Düsseldorf, 2002) and numerous production grants, amongst others Dock e.V / Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin (2010)

 

Thanks to:  Dr.Wolfgang Hansal, Dr.Selma Hansal/Happyplating,  Wendelin Weingartner/Senrad Inc., Albert Bleckmann, Axel Mays, Johannes Fürst, Dock e.V/Berlin, TEKS Trondheim Electronic Art Center